Wood Industry Market Leaders 2009-2012
November 26, 2013 | 3:53 pm UTC

This marks the fifth year Wood Products has identified those that have made an impact — at their own companies and on the industry as a whole. Along with the 2013 wood industry Market Leaders, we recognize past honorees (titles/jobs at date of recognition).

Keith Atherholt (2010)
President, Lewis Lumber Products
Under his direction, Lewis Lumber increased sales and products, while reducing operating costs.

Bill Barton (2012)
President & CEO, California Closets
Barton has helped California Closets progress by looking outside the industry for innovative ideas.

John Bassett (2012)
Chairman, Vaughan-Bassett Furniture Co.
Under Bassett, the company is the largest domestic producer of wood adult bedroom furniture.

Mark Bernhard (2009)
President, Bernhard Woodwork Ltd.
With a lifetime of experience in the industry, Bernhard has guided the firm to new levels.

Franco Bianchi (2011)
President & CEO, Haworth Inc.
Under Bianchi’s leadership, Haworth has stayed the course, offering integrated and innovative products for the contract furniture market.

Steve Brewster (2010)
Director of Sustainability, Kimball Office
In addition to Kimball, Brewster has gained recognition as a speaker on sustainable manufacturing.

Mike Carson (2009)
President, Closet Works Inc.
Carson launched The National Closet Group for the home storage and organization industry.

Mark Clemens (2011)
VP Product Development, idX Corp.
In addition to his efforts at idX, Clemens works to improve the industry and is active in the AWI.

Margaret Fisher (2010)
Director Market Dev., Lange Bros. Woodwork
Fisher is a notable speaker on the topics of LEED, wood and carbon, and forest sustainability.

Bob Gronlund (2012)
Chairman & CEO, Wood-Mode Inc.
Under Gronlund’s leadership, Wood-Mode has become one of the largest U.S. manufacturers of custom and semi-custom cabinetry.

Roger Jones (2011)
VP Global Logistics, Century Furniture
Jones helped develop the infrastructure to support Century’s Lacey Act implementation.

Steve Kincaid (2010)
President, Kincaid Furniture
Under Kincaid’s direction, the company looks to become the leading solid wood furniture manufacturer/marketer.

Edmund ‘Bud’ Klipa (2012)
GM Wood Division, Steelcase Inc.
Klipa took over leadership of Steelcase’s Wood division in January 2011.

Kevin Kuske (2009)
General Wood Manager, Steelcase Inc.
Kuske helped Steelcase reinvent its Wood business and put in place sustainability initiatives.

Bill LePage (2009)
VP Operations, The Simple Furniture Co.
LePage helped direct the company’s sustainability efforts, including an eco-friendly line of children’s furniture.

Pernille Lopez (2009)
President, IKEA North America
Lopez has directed IKEA’s growth from small retailer to nationally recognized home furnishings and accessories chain.

Matt Lundahl (2012)
COO, Meyer & Lundahl Manufacturing Co.
Lundahl has helped grow Meyer & Lundahl into a premier specialty contractor in the southwest.

Christine Marvin (2012)
Dir. of Marketing, Marvin Windows & Doors
Marvin helps ensure the fenestration giant remains productive and profitable.

Jeff Pray (2011)
President & CEO, PIN
Under his direction, PIN is growing business through new and existing product niches.

Mark Richey (2009)
President, Mark Richey Woodworking
Richey’s promotes strong environmental initiatives, as well as empowering employees.

Kevin Sauder (2009)
President & CEO, Sauder Woodworking
A strong advocate of environmental initiatives, the RTA giant produces almost 300 tons of wood waste daily, yet has not taken a load to the landfill in more than nine years.

Jim Sherbert (2010)
CEO, Bush Industries
Under Sherbert’s direction, Bush has diversified into new markets, and developed new brands and product lines.

Eric Smith (2012)
President & CEO, Panel Processing Inc.
Under his leadership, Panel Processing has grown to be the largest panel fabricator in the nation.

Greg Stoner (2010)
President, MasterBrand Cabinets
Stoner parlayed his experience in large-scale manufacturing environments to position MasterBrand in its leadership role.

Karen Strauss (2011)
President, Masco Cabinetry Group
Under her direction, Masco consolidated the retail and cabinet divisions into one streamlined organizational structure.

Bob Timberlake (2012)
Chairman, Bob Timberlake Inc.
Timberlake’s approach to design and marketing a branded furniture line helped turn around the furniture industry in the 1990s.

Brian Walker (2010)
President and CEO, Herman Miller Inc.
Walker has led Herman Miller to be one of the “100 Best Companies to Work For,” according to Fortune magazine.

Ron Wanek (2011)
Chairman, Ashley Furniture Industries Inc.
Under his leadership, the residential furniture company has become one of the largest in the nation and among the first to both source and sell around the world.

Chris Watson (2011)
COO, Conestoga Wood Specialties Corp.
Watson has led Conestoga in resizing of operations and lean manufacturing.

Bill Weaver (2009)
President & CEO, Canyon CreekCabinet Co.
Weaver built a small company on the verge of bankruptcy into a major cabinet manufacturer, renown for its sustainability initiatives.

Jennifer Q. Williams (2010)
Owner & President, St. Louis Closet Co.
In 1991 Williams launched the first locally-owned closet firm that installed custom organizing systems.

Andy Wilzoch (2009)
Owner & President, Premier EuroCase
With the goal of always moving forward and reinvesting in infrastructure, Wilzoch has propelled the company from a 1,000-square-foot shop into one of the largest panel processors.

Eric Wolff (2011)
President & CEO, The Stow Co.
Under his direction, Stow has become a premier, sustainable manufacturer of home organization products.

Boe Young (2010)
Vice President of Manufacturing, Impressions Marketing Group
Young has helped lead Impressions in its winning ventures, including multiple awarding of the A.R.E.’s “Above and Beyond Award” for customer service and project execution.

Nominate a Market Leader
Established by Wood Products magazine, this exclusive program recognizes individuals who have made an impact, not only at their own woodworking firm, but also within their market segments.
Submit Your Nominees

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.