Jeb Bassett, AHFA board will continue to serve in 2021
December 4, 2020 | 12:48 pm CST
John E. “Jeb” Bassett of Bassett Furniture Industries, Bassett, Virginia, will serve a second term as chair of the AHFA Board of Directors.

HIGH POINT, N.C. -- The American Home Furnishings Alliance has announced John E. “Jeb” Bassett, chief operating officer/senior vice president, Bassett Furniture Industries, Bassett, Virginia, will serve a second term as chair of the AHFA Board of Directors.



“AHFA’s entire slate of volunteer leaders has agreed to add a year of service to their terms, since many board duties were deferred in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic,” said AHFA CEO Andy Counts.

In addition to the four officers on the Executive Committee, the entire board of 18 directors will serve an extra year. 

Joining Bassett on the 2021 Executive Committee are Roger Bland, president and CEO of Southern Motion, Pontotoc, Mississippi, as first vice chair, and Joe Johnston, CEO of Johnston Casuals, North Wilkesboro, North Carolina, as second vice chair. AHFA’s 2020 chair, Gat Caperton, CEO of Gat Creek Furniture, Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, remains on the executive committee as immediate past-chair. 

“It is certainly a testament to the strength of our organization that these top industry executives all are willing to extend their terms on our board of directors by an additional year,” said Bassett. 

Executives with three years remaining on the AHFA Board of Directors include: Andy Bray, Vanguard Furniture; Eric Graham, Jonathan Charles; Caroline Hipple, Norwalk Furniture; Jeremy Hoff, Hooker Furniture; Allan Palecek, Palecek; and Todd Wanek, Ashley Furniture Industries. 

Continuing on the board with terms expiring year-end 2022 are Edward Audi, Stickley; Roy Calcagne, Craftmaster; Nathan Cressman, Magnussen Home Furnishings; Kurt Darrow, La-Z-Boy Inc.; Luke Simpson, Durham Furniture; Henry Vanderminden IV, Telescope Casual Furniture; and Ron Wanek, Ashley Furniture Industries. 

Board members with terms expiring year-end 2021 are Doug Bassett, Vaughan-Bassett Furniture; Bruce Birnbach, American Leather; Steve Lehman, Smith Brothers of Berne; and Jeff Scheffer, Universal Furniture 

Richard Weeks, Leggett & Platt, High Point, N.C., and Greg Van Dyke, Hanes Industries, Conover, N.C., are the 2021 supplier representatives on the board from AHFA’s Solution Partners division.

AHFA represents more than 230 leading furniture manufacturers and distributors, along with about 150 suppliers to the furniture industry worldwide. See

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.

Profile picture for user karlforth
About the author
Karl Forth

Karl D. Forth is online editor for CCI Media. He also writes news and feature stories in FDMC Magazine, in addition to newsletters and custom publishing projects. He is also involved in event organization, and compiles the annual FDM 300 list of industry leaders. He can be reached at [email protected].