ASHEVILLE, NC - Five students of furniture design will receive 2012 Furniture Society-Powermatic Student Workshop Scholarships.

The workshop scholarshipscover up to $3,000 for travel and tuition in one- to eight-week workshops in furniture and woodworking training..

2012 scholarship recipients are:

• Bradley Wolcott, Brookline, MA, North Bennet Street School, for a workshop on finishing at the Center for Furniture Craftsmanship, Rockport, ME.
• Vincent Edwards, Bloomington, IN,  Herron School of Art & Design, for a workshop on advanced woodworking: tables and benches at Anderson Ranch Arts Center, Snowmass, CO.
• Brendon Taylor, Oakville, Ontario, Canada, Sheridan College, who will attend a workshop on metal furniture.
• Sophie Glenn, New York, NY, Purchase College, will attend a workshop on fundamentals of boat building at Penland School of Crafts, Penland, NC. 
• Nathaniel Chambers, Clyde, NC, a student at Haywood Community College will take a workshop on making connections/basketry at Haystack Mountain School of Crafts, Deer Isle, ME.

“Some of these students will go on to head their own independent workshops, while others will become designers and executives in the furniture industry,” noted Barry Schwaiger, Powermatic director of product development, in announcing the winners.

Scholarship recipients were selected by a committee consisting of John Dennison, past conference co-chair, North Saanich, BC; Barry Schwaiger from Powermatic, LaVergne, TN; and Miguel Gomez-Ibanez, former Furniture Society president, Boston, MA.

"The scholarships provide financial help for creative students to pursue the best programs."said Alfred Sharp, President of The Furniture Society.

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.