Furniture Society Elects IUPUI Faculty Member as Trustee
August 13, 2012 | 8:14 pm CDT
Furniture Society Elects IUPUI Faculty Member as Trustee

Indianapolis - The Furniture Society, an international, nonprofit organization for professionals in the furniture field, has selected Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis Associate Professor Cory Robinson as a new trustee.

Robinson chairs the Fine Art Department in the Herron School of Art and Design at IUPUI.

The Furniture Society, based in Asheville, N.C., represents a broad cross-section of furniture makers, museum and gallery professionals, scholars, journalists and others. The organization sponsors a variety of programs that contribute to the education and enrichment of members and the public. The society’s trustees serve three-year terms.

Robinson, who is an alumnus of Herron, having earned a bachelor’s degree in fine art in furniture design in 1999, completed a master’s of fine art degree with an emphasis on furniture at San Diego State University.

“Professor Robinson’s leadership role in The Furniture Society exemplifies the level of commitment that Herron faculty have toward advancing their professional disciplines and education in the arts,” said Herron Dean Valerie Eickmeier.

Founded in 1996, The Furniture Society’s mission is “to advance the art of furniture making by inspiring creativity, promoting excellence and fostering an understanding of this art and its place in society,” according to society publications.

Source: Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.