The International Surface Fabricators Association announced the winners of its annual awards at the association’s recent annual meeting and conference in Scottsdale, Arizona. The ISFA awards are chosen by association members, and given to those in the industry that stand out as the best.

Past ISFA board member Erica Hussey, of J.C.W. Countertops in Woburn, Massachusetts, was inducted into the ISFA Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame Award is given to the individual who has, in the course of his/her career, made significant contributions to the decorative surfacing industry, and has demonstrated leadership and commitment to the ideals of ISFA. Hussey is a second generation owner, a 35-year-old fabrication business among the first in New England to fabricate DuPont Corian.

The other honored winners are: The Fabricator of the Year Award was given to ROCKin’teriors, a fabricator of a variety of hard surfacing products located in Raleigh, North Carolina. This is the second time the company has won the award. The Fabricator of the Year is awarded to an individual of a fabricator member company that in the past year has best exemplified the ISFA ideals of quality, innovation, character and exemplary service to ISFA and/or the decorative surfacing industry. Laura Grandlienard has diversified her business to cover the spectrum from high-end residential and custom builder work, to ventilated and direct adhere facades.

The Associate of the Year Award is given to an associate member company that in the past year has best exemplified the role of servicing the needs of fabricator member companies, and who has best supported ISFA in all activities. This year’s winner is Caragreen, which exemplifies professional prowess, innovation and leadership in surfacing. The company has led the charge for sustainable materials, and is are true champion for the environment. Under the leadership of Jessica McNaughton, Caragreen has actively engaged in, and been an advocate for ISFA.

The Innovator Award is for the member firm or individual who goes outside the box to create a product or system that enhances the life or elevates the role of the surface fabricator. The 2018 Winner is Indeko, founded by Rodrigo Velazquez as the first surface company in Mexico. Indeko has accelerated the standards for its peers through its commitment to continuous improvement and its embrace of best practices across all products and surfaces.

The Envision Award is given to the manufacturer member that excels in creating something imaginative and special for the surfacing industry. The 2018 winner is Wilsonart for its new Thinscape Performance Tops. See

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.