IWF Extra Coverage: 2008 Design Emphasis Student Winners

Nineteen students were honored as recipients in the Design Emphasis awards program in a special ceremony August 20 at the International Woodworking Fair in Atlanta, GA. They were chosen from among 75 finalists, whose pieces were on display during the show.

Student entrants were from colleges and universities throughout the United States. The furniture design competition offers design students an opportunity to demonstrate their talent and originality before a judging panel of furniture industry designers, manufacturing and retail executives, and members of the trade press who have design-oriented backgrounds.

A total of $14,000 in prize money was awarded. The competition recognizes and rewards advanced level designs in six categories: Seating, Ready-to-Assemble, Case Goods, Contract, Occasional Furniture and Design Creativity. First-Place, Honorable Mention and Merit awards are bestowed in each category. A prize is also given for the Best of Show.

The winners are as follows:

Best of Show

Winner: Andrew Kopp, Iowa State University


Top Winner: Greg Klassen, College of the Redwoods

Merit: Ashley Wedekind, Savannah College of Art & Design

Honorable Mention: Jacob Brooker, Georgia Tech

Contract Furniture

Top Winner: Daniel Thornberry, University of Kentucky

Merit: Brady Cutler, Brigham Young University

Honorable Mention: Meirav Shitrit, Art Center College of Design

Design Creativity

Top Winner: Jonathan Cox, Brigham Young University

Merit: Joseph Bischoff, University of Kentucky

Honorable Mention: Paul Masterson, University of Kentucky

Occasional Furniture

Top Winner: Kenneth Tuell, Haywood Community College

Merit: Adam Schwoeppe, Columbus College of Art & Design

Honorable Mention: Lisa Hirtzel, Miami University        

RTA (Ready-to-Assemble)

Top Winner: Justin Peart, Western Michigan University

Merit: Holly LaPerre, Georgia Tech

Honorable Mention: Kelly Hendrix, Georgia Tech


Top Winner: Austin Rhodes, Haywood Community College 

Merit: Greg Klassen, College of the Redwoods

Honorable Mention: Eric Payne, Savannah College of Art & Design


Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.