ORLANDO - The Composite Panel Association announced its new board membership at the conclusion of the fall annual meeting in Orlando. More than 200 people attended the business meeting, held Oct. 2-4.

Elected to the 2017 CPA Board are:

Emilio Ayub, Duraplay, chairman; Louis Brassard, Tafisa Canada, vice chairman; and Jake Elston, Arauco North America, secretary/treasurer.  Current CPA Chairman, Steve Stoler of Boise Cascade, will serve as 2017 immediate past chairman when his term ends this year.

The CPA Board also re-elected David Hoheisel of Marshfield DoorSystems, Will Warberg of Weyerhaeuser Co. and Mike Blosser of Louisiana-Pacific Co. to serve as at-large members of the Executive Committee.  Pat Aldred of Georgia-Pacific Wood Products was also voted on to the Executive Committee, replacing longtime executive committee member and former CPA chairman, Bryan Wilson.

Three Associate Members also were re-elected to the CPA Board of Directors: Mark Kable of Setzer Forest Products, Rick Bryson of Ashley Furniture and Garrett Tinsman of Sauder Woodworking. They were joined by three newly elected Associate Members: Elliott Savage of Seemac Inc., Jean Briere of Shaw Industries and Brad Bolduc of Arclin, who will serve the remainder of Ralf Yobp’s term.

The Board also re-elected a number of committee chairman and vice chairman for 2017 including:
Environmental and Public Affairs Committee: Chairman Jake Elston of Arauco North America, and Vice Chairman Will Warberg of Weyerhaeuser Co.
Production-Technical Committee: Chair Janice Shultz of West Fraser, and Vice Chairman Dale Garges of Arauco North America
Marketing Committee: Chairman Eric Dedekam of Tafisa Canada, and Vice Chairman Peter Stasiowski of Interprint
The Decorative Surfaces Council Chairman seat will become vacant following the conclusion of Bob Knothe’s (Toppan) term in January.  The Vice Chairman is currently Tom Haffner, Schattdecor.

Founded in 1960, and with 174 members today, the CPA represents the North American composite panel industry on technical, regulatory, quality assurance and product acceptance issues.  Its General Members include 30 of the leading manufacturers of particleboard, medium density fiberboard (MDF) and hardboard, representing more than 92 percent of the total manufacturing capacity in the United States, Canada and Mexico.


Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.