ANSI approves Kitchen Cabinet Manufacturers Association for reaccreditation
May 10, 2016 | 1:28 am CDT

RESTON, Va. - The Kitchen Cabinet Manufacturers Association (KCMA) was approved for reaccreditation by the ANSI Executive Standards Council as an Accredited Standard Developer. Being approved as a standard developer is the first part of a two-year process that KCMA initiates every five years under strict ANSI guidelines.

KCMA has maintained its ANSI standard (A161.1) for over 50 years through the commitment of the KCMA Standards Committee and staff, following ANSI’s required procedures and criteria for approval. KCMA’s standard is the only ANSI standard of its kind, which covers kitchen, bath vanity, and cabinetry for residential use. Tests outlines at KCMA's ANSI page include:

  • Five Structural Tests Measure Cabinet's Structural Integrity
  • Two Drawer Tests Required
  • Two Door Operation Tests Measure Durability
  • Four Finish Tests Conducted

Company's meeting the criteria are listed in the 44-page KCMA ANSI book  (open PDF), which was last updated May 10, 2016.

KCMA announced, in the February 19, 2016 edition of ANSI – Standards Action, the beginning of their work on the latest revision of these growing standards, ANSI/KCMA A161.1 – 2017. Receiving approval as an Accredited Standard Developer paves the way for the next part of the process where KCMA will revise and strengthen their standards.

KCMA conducts the revision process under strict ANSI guidelines including participation and review by consumer and supplier organizations, builders, remodelers, the U.S. government, architects, and other related groups to insure that the standard reflects improvements in technology, materials and construction.

For any questions, comments, or inquiries, or to participate in the revision process as a member of KCMA’s consensus body, please contact Chuck Arnold, Director of Certification, [email protected] or (703) 264-1690.

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.

Profile picture for user billesler
About the author
Bill Esler | ConfSenior Editor

Bill wrote for, FDMC and Closets & Organized Storage magazines. 

Bill's background includes more than 10 years in print manufacturing management, followed by more than 30 years in business reporting on industrial manufacturing in the forest products industries, including printing and packaging at American Printer (Features Editor) and Graphic Arts Monthly (Editor in Chief) magazines; and in secondary wood manufacturing for

Bill was deeply involved with the launches of the Woodworking Network Leadership Forum, and the 40 Under 40 Awards programs. He currently reports on technology and business trends and develops conference programs.

In addition to his work as a journalist, Bill supports efforts to expand and improve educational opportunities in the manufacturing sectors, including 10 years on the Print & Graphics Scholarship Foundation; six years with the U.S. WoodLinks; and currently on the Woodwork Career Alliance Education Committee. He is also supports the Greater West Town Training Partnership Woodworking Program, which has trained more than 950 adults for industrial wood manufacturing careers. 

Bill volunteers for Foinse Research Station, a biological field station staddling the border of Ireland and Northern Ireland, one of more than 200 members of the Organization of Biological Field Stations.