KANSAS CITY, MO June 25 The winners of the annual SkillsUSA Championships in CARPENTRY were announced Friday evening, June 25, at the Awards Ceremony of SkillsUSA National Leadership and Skills Conference. The Conference was held June 21 - June 25, 2010, at the Municipal Auditorium, the Kemper Arena, H. Roe Bartle Hall, the downtown Marriott and the downtown Crown Plaza in Kansas City, Missouri. Over 5,600 outstanding career and technical education students joined in the excitement of hands on competition in ninety-six different trade, technical, and leadership fields.

Working against the clock and each other, the participants proved their expertise in job skills for occupations such as electronics, technical drafting, precision machining, medical assisting and culinary arts. There were also competitions in leadership skills, such as extemporaneous speaking and conducting meetings by parliamentary procedures.

SkillsUSA is the national organization for students in trade, industrial, technical and health occupations education. It sponsors the SkillsUSA Championships annually to recognize the achievements of career and technical education students and to encourage them to strive for excellence and pride in their chosen occupations.

The contests are planned by technical committees made up of representatives of labor and management and are designed to test the skills needed for a successful entry level performance in given occupational fields. Safety practices and procedures - an area of great concern to labor and management alike - are judged and graded and constitute a portion of a contestant’s score.

Carpentry contestants must frame walls using wood and metal studs, cut and install common and hip rafters, install drywall and baseboard moldings and window trim. Contestants are judged on accuracy, ability to read and interpret blueprints, workmanship and the proper use of tools and equipment.

Members of the national technical committee for carpentry include Chair Boyd Worsham, The Haskell Co. (Fla.); Robyn Bucknam, DEWALT Industrial Tool Co. (N.C.); John Gaal, Carpenters' District Council of Greater St. Louis (Mo.); Clay Kubicek, Crossland Construction Company, Inc. (Kan.); Ed Prevatte, National Center for Construction Education and Research (Fla.); Maribeth Rizzuto, Steel Framing Alliance (Pa.); Todd Staub, Associated Builders and Contractors, Inc. (D.C.); and, Jay Wetterhus, Morton Buildings Inc. (Ill.).

A national education team assists the national technical committee. Members include Chair Les Zimmerman, Alexandria Technical College (Minn.); Don Dennis, Grand River Tech School (Mo.); Rod Hendrickson; Steven Hilton (Mo.); Jay Pearson, Greenville Technical College (S.C.); Troy Rupp, Alexandria Technical College (Minn.); and, Beth Zimmerman, Alexandria Technical College (Minn.).

Organizations supporting the contest include Calculated Industries; Carhartt; Dietrich Metal Framing; DuoFast; Grabber Construction Products; H. D. Supply/White Cap Construction Supply; intelitek, Inc.; IRWIN Industrial Tool Co.; Lowe’s Companies, Inc.; Morton Buildings; Paslode; R. S. Means; Senco Brands, Inc.; Smith Level Co.; and, Stiletto Hammers.

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.