Bel Air, MD – The Wood Machinery Manufacturers of America (WMMA), the national trade association for those who make machinery, cutting tools and supplies for the woodworking industry, has announced the winner of its Ralph B. Baldwin Award, the association's highest honor. The award was presented to John S. Satagaj, Esq. WMMA's longtime legal counsel.

Announcement of the award was made at the Woodworking Industry Conference, which took place at the Wyndham Rio Mar Beach Resort in Puerto Rico.

Satagaj has worked with WMMA, not only serving as legal counsel but assisting with legislative matters pertaining to the woodworking and manufacturing industry. His regularly published "Washington Report" is e-mailed out regularly, keeping industry members updated on developments in Washington, D.C.

Satagaj serves as the Principal of John S. Satagaj, Attorney at Law, specializing in small business, trade association and tax matters. He also founded and was the longtime president of the Small Business Legislative Council (SBLC). The SBLC is an independent coalition of nearly 60 trade and professional associations that share the commitment to the future of small business. He earned his law degree from the University of Connecticut and a subsequent LL.M in Taxation from George Washington University.

The Baldwin Award is named for Ralph B. Baldwin, long-time member and past president of WMMA. During his career with Oliver Machinery Company and his involvement with the WMMA, Baldwion exemplified the commitment that makes an Association function at its peak potential. The award recognizes those who have contributed similar levels of involvement.

"We are honored to present John Satagaj with this year's Baldwin Award," stated John Schultz, WMMA's president. "He has shown extraordinary commitment and dedication to our association and our industry over the years. I cannot think of an individual more deserving of this honor."

WMMA is located at 2105 Laurel Bush Road, Suite 201, Bel Air, MD 21015. The phone number is 443-640-1052 and the fax number is 443-640-1031. It website, which contains information on the award, is


Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.