The Furniture Society welcomed three new trustees to the board when it convened its semi-annual meeting, June 17th and 18th in Portland, Maine.

Joining the board:

Katie Hudnall of Murray, KY, runs the Furniture Design/Woodworking program at Murray State University. She received her BFA in Sculpture from the Corcoran College of Art & Design and her MFA in Furniture/Woodworking at Virginia Commonwealth University. She has played an active role in several of the conferences including Indianapolis, IN, Boone, NC, and the most recent in Portland, ME.

John Lavine of Berkeley, CA, has been involved in the field for more than 30 years, as a maker, teacher, writer and editor. In 1980 he started Kodama Woodworks, combining contemporary furniture with his training in Japanese woodworking. He has exhibited nationally and is a Master member of the Baulines Craft Guild. He was the editor of Woodwork magazine from 1997-2008, as well as a founding board member of the Museum of Craft and Design. He has been an active supporter of the Furniture Society since 1998, working on the San Francisco conference and later serving on the Award of Distinction committee from 2006-2008.

Cory Robinson of Indianapolis, IN, studied furniture design at the Herron School of Art and Design, Indianapolis, IN, receiving a BFA and applied design at San Diego State University with an emphasis on furniture, receiving a MFA Robinson served as the co-chair for the 2006 annual society conference in Indianapolis. In addition to having a furniture making studio practice, Robinson teaches furniture design at the Herron School of Art, since 2003, and is currently the Chair of the Fine Arts department at the school.

Alf Sharp, president of the Society for the past year is completing two three-year terms and will remain on the board for an additional year.

Sylvia Bennett of Oakland, CA who served as co-chair of the Nominations Committee and Andy Glantz of Scottsdale, AZ are both leaving the board this month.

Effective June 17th, the Society officers, who form the Executive Committee, are: Kern Maass of Boone, NC, president; Steffanie Dotson of San Diego, CA, vice president; Lois Moran of New York City, NY, treasurer; and Forest Dickey of San Francisco, CA, secretary.

Source: The Furniture Society

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.