PHILADELPHIA – The Wood Machinery Manufacturers of America’s ASC O1.1 Committee is currently developing standards for in-line ripsaws, gang ripsaws, shapers, edgebanders and CNC machining centers. The ANSI sub-committees draft the standards and the WMMA seeks individuals that use, design, manufacture, sell, distribute, install, repair or rebuild any of the above machines to participate in the drafting of new safety standards. Most of the work is done electronically or by telephone.

According to the WMMA, the goal of the sub-committees is to draft meaningful and comprehensive standards for the safety of specific machines. Participation on a committee will affect all aspects, including design, use and training, of future products in the woodworking industry.

To volunteer for a committee, contact the following sub-committee chairmen:

Gang Ripsaws – Max Green, (612) 708-8906, mgreen64@comcast.net

CNC Machining Center – Russ Gentry, (404) 463-3198, t.gentry@coa.gatech.edu

Shapers – Bill Pritchard (423) 884-6579, wpritchard@pnat.com

Straight Line Ripsaws – Jack Hyde, (636) 279-6202, jhyde@sfaconsulting.com

Edgebander – Heinz Schmidt, (941) 240-2882, heinz@schmidtindustries.net

For further information, contact the ASC O1.1 Committee Chair, Michael L. Gililland at (636) 240-6095, mgililland@esi-mo.com or Staff Liaison Karen Boyle at (215) 564-3484, kboyle@fernley.com.

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.