BETHESDA, MD -- RadTech-The Association for UV and EB technologies honored contributions to the
advancement of the industry at its biennial awards dinner during RadTech 2010 in Baltimore.

Tony Berejka was presented with the RadTech President's award for outstanding leadership. Berejka is a founding member and past-president of RadTech and for the past four decades has made significant contributions to RadTech and the success of the UV (ultraviolet) and EB (electron beam) technologies.  He currently heads his own consulting firm, IONICORP+, in Huntington, NY.

In presenting the award, Mike Idacavage, of Cytec and president of RadTech, said,  "Tony is truly a RadTech
statesman and an ambassador for our technology, and we recognize his unselfish sharing of his time and efforts and his remarkable energy and vision for our technology."

Other industry awards
RadTech also recognized the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA) for its efforts to develop uv.eb EAST, a RadTech-sponsored conference and exhibition; and for its project opportunity funding of $2 million for UV/EB technology..  

Patricia Yulkowski, CEO of Total Door, was presented with a new award for contributions of an end-user of UV or EB technology. Yulkowski said, "Total Door's decision to move from solvent-based coating to UV coating technology was a significant step in our goal to implement sustainable technology into every part of our manufacturing process. Aside from the more obvious improvements that UV coating provides, including reduced VOCs and HAPs as well as a generally cleaner and safer working environment, Total Door's manufacturing process has also seen advancement in the following key areas: faster production speed, reduced work in process, reduced manufacturing foot print, reduced energy costs, and reduced quality costs."

RadTech's Best Paper Award went to Michael Dvorchak, Bayer MaterialScience LLC. His paper and presentation was on "Acrylated Allophanate Oligomers That Are 100% Solids with Low Viscosity and High

The Best Student Paper went to Luke Kwisnek, University of Southern Mississippi, for his work on "UV-Cured Membranes for Gas Separation."

Student Experience Scholarships went to Kenny Mineart, a senior at the Univerity of Iowa, and Luke Kwisnet, a graduate student at Southern Mississippi.  

The Best Student UV-EB Poster award was won by Alicia Juarez a junior majoring in Graphic Communication at California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo, CA.  

Read RadTech's press release.

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.