ATLANTA -- The student Design Emphasis awards serve as the most internationally recognized showcase that highlights design, innovation and practical application of woodworking by top design students in the United States. This year's Design Emphasis awards had a record 44 schools participating with another record of 271 entries. The 2006 winners were:

*Best of Show: Sandor Prutt, Art Center College of Design

*Casegoods: Casey Pryor, University of Kentucky

*Contract Furniture: Jang Won Yoon, Art Center College of Design

*Creativity: Dean Vande Griend, Iowa State University

*Occasional Furniture: Nick Christopher, Southern Illinois University

*Ready-to-Assemble: Hongtao Zhou, Purdue University

*Seating: Alexandra Rich, University of Oregon

For more information, call 404-693-8333 or email [email protected].

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.