WASHINGTON, DC - The National Lumber and Building Material Dealers Association (NLBMDA) Board of Directors elected Chuck Bankston, owner of Bankston Lumber in Barnesville, GA, as the association's new chair. The NLBMDA announced the 2012-2013 leadership team on Oct. 24 at its annual Dealer Industry Summit, held in Savannah, GA.

"I feel very good about our sector and the improving housing conditions our nation is starting to see. Now we must consolidate these gains and prepare the ground work for future growth," Bankston said in a statement. "While we focus on bringing our dealer's voices to Capitol Hill, I will also ensure that we continue to build our education efforts so that our lumber and building material suppliers can make their businesses even better as we continue our build our way toward a better economy in 2013."

Other members of the 2012-2013 NLBMDA Executive Committee are: Chair-Elect Chris Yenrick, Smith-Phillips Building Supply, Winston-Salem, NC; First Vice Chair J.D. Saunders, Economy Lumber, Campbell, CA; Second Vice Chair Scott Yates, Denver Lumber, Denver, CO; Treasurer Linda Nussbaum, Kleet Lumber Co., Huntington, NY; Manufacturers & Services Council Chair Roger Dankel, Simpson Strong-Tie, McKinney, TX; Federated Association Executives Chair Paula Siewert, Northwestern Lumber Association, Minneapolis, MN; Immediate Past Chair Cally Coleman Fromme, Zarsky Lumber, Victoria, TX; and President Michael O'Brien, NLBMDA, Washington, DC.

Founded in 1917, the NLBMDA has more than 6,000 members that operate single or multiple lumber yards and component plants serving homebuilders, subcontractors, general contractors, and consumers in the new construction, repair and remodeling of residential and light commercial markets.

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.