NELLYSFORD, Va. -- The Woodwork Career Alliance of North America has announced that 29 high school woodworking programs have joined as EDUcation members for the 2019-20 academic year.

The 29 new EDU members include 13 schools in Wisconsin, four each in North Carolina and Illinois, and two in California. The other six schools are in Minnesota, Nevada, Ohio, Utah, Washington and Alberta, Canada.

With the newly added schools, WCA EDU membership now totals more than 130 in the U.S. and Canada. In addition to high school woodshops, EDU membership includes college woodworking programs and other career technical education institutions.

EDU member programs are licensed to use the WCA Woodworking Skill Standards and Passport credentialing program recognized throughout North America. Other EDU member benefits include access to training materials and videos, plus free and exclusive discounts for woodshop necessities through the WCA Essentials Benefit Package.

Chadrick Parrott, who has been teaching woodworking classes for 12 years, including the last seven at Indian Valley High School of Gnadenhutten, Ohio, said he chose to join the WCA “to formalize my curriculum to align with current industry standards. I hope to improve our curriculum and develop relationships with other teachers and industry professionals.”

Jason Glodowski, who instructs about 50 students each year at Hononegeh High School in Rockton, Illinois, said, “I decided to join the WCA because of the national certification that students can obtain as well as the standardized nationally recognized assessments in the program. I'm hoping my local business partners recognize and value my certified students in the hiring process. And I'm also hoping that it brings more local and state recognition to my program, in regards to level of quality and what is to be expected of my students.” Glodowski said that Hononegeh High School plans to add a second level cabinetry class.

“We’re pleased to welcome these new EDU members to the WCA,” said Scott Nelson, WCA president. “These schools are demonstrating their commitment to making sure their woodworking programs are in line with industry’s needs for candidates who have been trained to safely operate equipment and have demonstrated the aptitude to continue growing their woodworking skills.”

The full list of new WCA EDU member high schools includes:

Arroyo High School, El Monte, California
Bartlett Yancey High School, Yanceyville, North Carolina
Battle Ground High School, Brush Prairie, Washington
Beloit Memorial High School, Beloit, Wisconsin
Bertie High School, Windsor, North Carolina
Crosby-Ironton High School, Crosby, Minnesota
D.C. Everest High School, Schofield, Wisconsin
Dakota High School, Dakota, Illinois
F. J. Turner High School, Beloit, Wisconsin
Fennimore High School, Fennimore, Wisconsin
Franklin High School, Franklin, Wisconsin
Hillcrest High School, Midvale, Utah
Hononegah Community School, Rockton, Illinois
Indian Valley High School, Gnadenhutten, Ohio
Jefferson High School, Jefferson, Wisconsin
Johns A. Holmes High School, Edenton, North Carolina
Kettle Moraine High School, Wales, Wisconsin
Lord Beaverbrook High School, Calgary, Alberta
Louisburg High School, Franklinton, North Carolina
Mukwonago High School, Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Oregon High School, Oregon, Wisconsin
Palmyra-Eagle High School, Palmyra, Wisconsin
Pecatonica High School, Pecatonica, Illinois
Ridgewood High School, Norridge, Illinois
San Marcos High School, Santa Barbara, California
South Milwaukee High School, South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Spring Creek High School, Spring Creek, Nevada
Stoughton High School, Stoughton, Wisconsin
West High School, Wauwatosa, Wisconsin


For more information

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.