Nominations Sought for 5th Annual Metz Achievement Award

LINCOLNSHIRE, IL – Wood & Wood Products Editor-in-Chief Karen Koenig has put out a call for nominations for the Fifth Annual Jerry Metz Achievement Award.

The Metz Award is named as a last tribute to the popular late, great W&WP columnist and furniture manufacturer. It recognizes a woodworking executive’s excellence in the areas of safety, training, quality and productivity.

To qualify, a nominee must meet the following criteria:

  • Have a minimum of 10 years professional experience in the woodworking industry;
  • Be an owner or supervisor of a woodworking plant employing at least 20 people; and
  • Have made a significant contribution to the company’s safety, training, quality and productivity programs.

Previous winners of the Metz Award, are:

Joseph Cannon Jr., president, CAS America, 2003;

Paul Wellborn, president and CEO, Wellborn Cabinet, 2004;

Bob Gronlund, chairman and CEO, WoodMode, 2005; and

Sam Stoltzfus, president, Keystone Wood Specialities. 2006.

To receive a nomination form, contact Koenig at [email protected]. The deadline for nominations is Friday, Sept. 21.


Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.