More oral histories published by American Home Furnishings HOF

HIGH POINT, N.C.— The American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame Foundation has published three more oral histories of Hall of Fame inductees Aminy I. Audi, CEO and chairman of L. & J.G. Stickley; John Bray, president of Vanguard Furniture Co.; and the late Bernard Castro, founder of Castro Convertibles.

The Hall of Fame has now published 53 hardcover books and completed 66 oral interviews of industry leaders. Thirteen of those oral histories are in the process of being published as books, complete with photography, the organization said.

Pictured left to right: Aminy Audi, CEO and chairman of L. & J.G. Stickley; John Bray, president of Vanguard Furniture Co.; and Bernard Castro, founder of Castro Convertibles.

“With each interview, we gain not only proprietary original information about our industry’s leaders and their companies, we also learn about economic, manufacturing, marketing and social changes,” said Martin Ploy, president of the Foundation board of directors, and president of AI-CO/Amini Innovation Corp. “The varying perspectives each leader brings to significant events and time periods are fascinating. Their stories form a valuable collection that will serve the industry for years to come.”

Books previously released include: Nathan S. Ancell; George Alexander Bernhardt, Sr.; John C. Bernhardt; Alvin E. Bland; Rose G. Blumkin; Douglas Brackett; E. L. Briggs; Paul H. Broyhill; David J. Brunn; Bob Bush, Sr.; Joe Carroll; Dan Hutcheson Edmonson; Wallace W. Epperson, Jr.; Bert Roy Fenn; O. William Fenn; Hassell Franklin; Joseph G. Gerard; John R. Gerken, Jr.; Charles O. Gordon; Howard G. Haas; Stella and Darrell Harris; Rawson Haverty, Sr.; Mary McKenzie Henkel; W.G. Holliman, Jr.; Clyde Hooker, Jr.; Don A. Hunziker; Leo August Jiranek; William P. Kemp, Sr.; J. Wade Kincaid; Steven M. Kincaid; Bernard B. Lane; Joanna C. Maitland; Hyman Meyers; Stephen Henry Millender; Patrick H. Norton; Kevin M. O’Connor; Stephen Knight Pond; Joseph E. Richardson II; Lawrence K. Schnadig; Gordon Segal; Irving B. Sherman; Edwin J. Shoemaker; Harley F. Shuford, Jr.; Charles R. Sligh, Jr.; Robert H. Spilman; Art Van Elslander; John B. Vaughan; Howard O. Walker; Ronald G. Wanek; and Elliott S. Wood.

Building rendering. The 23,500-square-foot building is scheduled to open April 2021.

In 2008, the Hall of Fame Foundation received a grant from the Furniture Foundation to digitize the transcripts and tapes of 33 previously recorded oral interviews that were in danger of being lost. These interviews, along with 20 additional new oral histories, are available online at Hardcover books cost $25 each.

The Foundation is accepting recommendations for other industry leaders whose stories need to be captured.  To send suggestions or receive more information, contact [email protected]

The American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame Foundation Inc. is an industry-wide organization founded to preserve its history, to celebrate exceptional individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the U.S. home furnishings industry, and to inspire a new class of innovation and leadership. A 501(c)3 nonprofit organization, the organization currently is based in High Point, North Carolina; the grand opening of a new permanent home is targeted for April 2021.


Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.

Profile picture for user karenkoenig
About the author
Karen Koenig | Editor

Karen M. Koenig has more than 30 years of experience in the woodworking industry, including visits to wood products manufacturing facilities throughout North America, Europe and Asia. As editor of special publications under the Woodworking Network brand, including the Red Book Best Practices resource guide and website, Karen’s responsibilities include writing, editing and coordinating of editorial content. She is also a contributor to FDMC and other Woodworking Network online and print media owned by CCI Media. She can be reached at [email protected]