Announcing the 2021 Wood Industry 40 Under 40 honorees
May 25, 2021 | 8:53 am CDT

NORTH LIBERTY, Iowa - Honorees of the 2021 Wood Industry 40 Under 40 have been announced by Woodworking Network. This year marks the sixth annual awarding of the 40 Under 40, which celebrates the next generation of industry professionals who are making an impact on wood products manufacturing in North America.

Those selected have been recognized by their peers for their achievements and innovations in the categories of: productivity, profitability, social good, ingenuity, peer inspiration, product development, organizational leadership, or another area. A total of 151 submissions were received and evaluated by a team of Woodworking Network editors.

“It’s always hard to narrow down the list to 40 honorees and 2021’s entries were no exception.  Among the entrants are highly successful entrepreneurs, marketing specialists, extraordinary woodworkers, educators and almost-rookie team members," said Harry Urban, FDMC publisher. "While dealing with COVID personally and professionally, this year’s nominees have successfully navigated supply chain volatility, led and motivated team members and contributed to their communities.  Cheers for the Class of 2021!"

“It is our distinct pleasure to again recognize some of the best and brightest contributors to wood products manufacturing in North America with our sixth annual class of 40 Under 40 honorees. This year’s inductees join the 200 alums from prior years, forming a group of enterprising individuals destined to advance our industry to meet the everchanging challenges of the future," said Tim Fixmer, CEO of CCI Media, the parent of Woodworking Network.

"Please join us in congratulating each of them and celebrating their commitment to excellence. We also hope that many of you will take the opportunity to meet some of this stellar group at the Executive Briefing Conference in September at the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs,” he added.

Those named to the 40 Under 40 Class of 2021 are (in alphabetical order):

HONOREE PLACE OF WORK WEBSITE
Kelly Barefoot ShelfGenie of Coastal Carolina shelfgenie.com
Luke Barnett Sam Beauford Woodworking Institute Sambeaufordwoodshop.com
Janelle Berman Amber Millwork Ltd. ambermillwork.com
Sean BiloskI Iron Oaks LLC ironoaksny.com
Renfro Carranza Panel Specialists, Inc. panelspec.com
Jimmy Carroll Ruck Cabinet Doors ruckdoors.com
Marty Coleman Narrow Gate Woodworks narrowgate.org
Robbie Davis Delta Millworks deltamillworks.com
Derek DeGeest LestaUSA & DeGeest Corp. lestausa.com
Elizabeth Dick TigerStop tigerstop.com
Bennett Dipzinski Hocker North America hockeramerica.com
Adam Doran Closet America closetamerica.com
Robert Edelbach Red Star Cabinet Co. redstarcabinet.com
David Fair Third Bench thirdbench.com
Kevin Finney Vantage Customs LLC vantagecustoms.com
Nathan Guffey Guffey Cabinetry/Guffey Systems LLC guffeysystems.com guffeycabinetry.com
Roger Harry Bill Truitt WoodWorks btwoodworks.com
Will Holsappel Windmill Cabinet Shop Ltd. windmillcabinets.com
Dave Hoppe Dynamic Wood Solutions dynamicwoodsolutions.net
Austin Jackson SurfPrep Sanding surfprepsanding.com
Seth Johnson Leeman Architectural Woodwork leeman-aw.net
Frankie Jordan The Washington Woodworking Co. washingtonwoodworking.com
Ben King Quarry View Building Group quarryviewbuildinggroup.com
Michael Laurysen Laurysen Kitchens Ltd. laurysenkitchens.com
Steven McNeilly Cefla North America ceflafinishing.com
Madelyn Melchert Church Hill Activities and Tutoring, Nehemiah’s Workshop nehemiahsworkshoprva.com
Andrew Moretti RFP Design Group Inc. rfpdesign.com
David Niemczyk Würth Baer Supply Co. wurthbaersupply.com
Jonny Nikolic Specialty Laminates specialtylaminates.com
John Parker Halkett Woodworking Inc. halkettwoodworking.com
Eddie San Juan E.F. San Juan efsanjuan.com
Joe Schumacher Stevens Industries Inc. stevensind.com
Abi Shaffer Leuco Tool Corp. leuco.com
Alex Staalner Brookhuis America Inc. brookhuis.com
Justin Stabb Stabb Designs LLC StabbDesigns.com
Alex (Alexandra) Sustaita Panel Specialists, Inc. panelspec.com
Mario Tellez CNC Factory cncfactory.com
Justin Trewitt Dapper Woodworks DapperWoodworks.com
Justin Whitaker Genesis Products Inc. genesisproductsinc.com
Tara Whitlock Häfele America Co. hafele.com/us

 

The 2021 honorees will be profiled on WoodworkingNetwork.com and in the October issue of FDMC magazine. They will also be recognized at industry events including the Leadership Reception in Las Vegas, July 19, the day prior to the AWFS Fair, and a reception at the Executive Briefing Conference, Sept. 8-10, at the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs, Colorado; 2021 honorees also will receive a complimentary registration to EBC.

The Class of 2021 Wood Industry 40 Under 40 is sponsored by CNC Factory and Hexagon Production Software: Cabinet Vision and Alphacam.

Plaques for the 2021 Wood Industry 40 Under 40 are being provided by Epilog Laser.

Entries to this year's 40 Under 40 were solicited at WoodworkingNetwork.com through banner ads, eblast promotions and via social media. The 2021 class joins an elite group of honorees from 20202019, 2018 2017, and those recognized in 2016.

For more information on the 40 Under 40 award program, contact Karen Koenig at karen.koenig@woodworknetwork.com.

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.

Profile picture for user karenkoenig
About the author
Karen Koenig | Editor

Karen M. Koenig has more than 30 years of experience in the woodworking industry, including visits to wood products manufacturing facilities throughout North America, Europe and Asia. As editor of special publications under the Woodworking Network brand, including the Red Book Best Practices resource guide and website, Karen’s responsibilities include writing, editing and coordinating of editorial content. She is also a contributor to FDMC and other Woodworking Network online and print media owned by CCI Media. She can be reached at karen.koenig@woodworkingnetwork.com