American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame Foundation elects new officers, board members

HIGH POINT, N.C. — The Board of Directors of the American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame Foundation Inc. has elected new officers and board members for 2020.

Martin Ploy, president, AICO/Amini Innovation Corp, has been elected board president; Caroline Hipple, president, Norwalk Furniture, first vice president; Scott Eckman, president of Furniture & Home Decor Leasing and executive vice president of International Market Centers, second vice president; and, Larry Rogers, consultant, secretary-treasurer. David Gebhart, CEO, Global Views, will continue to serve on the executive committee as board chairman.

New directors are Tyson Hagale, president-Furniture Hardware Division, Leggett & Platt; and Connie Lineberry, president, Connie Lineberry & Associates.

“This year will be even more dynamic, with the construction on our new building, the development of the exhibits, our Induction Celebration and the ongoing growth of our Leadership initiatives,” Ploy said. “The impressive transformation of the banquet continues to build momentum and has been enthusiastically embraced.  We are fortunate to have an impressive leadership team and engaged Board of Directors.”

Re-elected members serving an additional three-year term are Randy Coconis, president treasurer, Coconis Furniture Inc./Mattress 1st; and Mike Herschel, executive director, Furniture Marketing Group.

The American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame Foundation, Inc., is an industry-wide organization founded to preserve its history, to celebrate exceptional individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the U.S. home furnishings industry, and to inspire a new class of innovation and leadership. A 501(c)3 nonprofit organization, the organization currently is based in High Point, North Carolina; the grand opening of a new permanent home is targeted for April 2021.

The 2020 inductees into the American Home Furnishings Hall of Fame – individuals who have made significant contributions to the growth and development of the U.S. furniture industry – will be honored at the Induction Celebration on Sunday, Oct. 18 at the High Point Market.  For information, call 336-882.5900 or visit


Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.

Profile picture for user karenkoenig
About the author
Karen Koenig | Editor

Karen M. Koenig has more than 30 years of experience in the woodworking industry, including visits to wood products manufacturing facilities throughout North America, Europe and Asia. As editor of special publications under the Woodworking Network brand, including the Red Book Best Practices resource guide and website, Karen’s responsibilities include writing, editing and coordinating of editorial content. She is also a contributor to FDMC and other Woodworking Network online and print media owned by CCI Media. She can be reached at [email protected]