2007 ASFD Design Contest Award Winners Announced
August 14, 2011 | 10:04 pm CDT


Häfele's Philip Martin poses with first place winner Diane McCabe of Kendall College of Art & Design (left) and second place winner Fiona Dickenson of Savannah College of Art & Design (right).

HIGH POINT, NC -- The American Society of Furniture Designers presented its annual 2007 David Kline Memorial Scholarship contest winners on Mar. 27 in High Point, NC. Häfele America Co., a supplier of functional and decorative cabinet, furniture and architectural builders hardware, co-sponsored the contest for the fourth consecutive year. Contest application kits were sent to colleges across the country, with design students being asked to design a piece of furniture utilizing Häfele’s Tab A Honeycomb Connector.  Philip Martin, Häfele's senior manager of business development, made the formal presentation to the top winners.

“We were delighted with the number of entries and creative designs the students presented using light-weight panels and Häfele's honeycomb connector,” Martin said.

The First Place Award of $3,500 went to Diane McCabe, a senior at Kendall College of Art & Design in Grand Rapids, MI, for her "Platform" bed. Fiona Dickenson, a senior at Savannah College of Art & Design in Savannah, GA, received the $1,000 Second Place Award for “The Passage,” a wall-mounted, sleek entry-way cabinet. Thor Taber, a junior at Kendall College of Art & Design, received a $500 Honorable Mention Award for his "Manchester," a free standing closet system/media center intended for the contemporary loft market.  

The Judges for the contest included Häfele's Philip Martin; Philip Behrens, ASFD, president of Natura Design; Gray Pennell, merchandising director, Furnitureland South; Lori Reed, director of corporate fashion, Century Furniture; and Rick Hargrove, associate professor of marketing, Home Furnishings Programs, High Point University.   

The ASFD annual scholarship contest was named in honor of the late David Kline, who was a West Coast designer and former ASFD president during the late nineties.  

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.