PAVE's 2011 Student Design Competition Winners Announced
December 1, 2011 | 8:23 am CST

PAVE's 2011 Student Design Competition Winners AnnouncedHOLLYWOOD, FL -- PAVE's support of tomorrow's retail designers and visual merchandisers continues to grow. The Planning and Visual Education Partnership (PAVE) will award $21,000 in grants to students and $6,000 in school awards based on the winning entries of its 2011 Student Design Competition.

Judging took place Nov. 15, 2011, at Sephora's offices in San Francisco. The competition was geared toward college-level students involved in retail planning, visual merchandising, interior design, and branding programs. PAVE thanks Sephora, the sponsor of this year's competition, and all of the judges, educators, and students who participated. The winners will be recognized at the 15th Annual Gala in New York on Dec. 7, 2011. 

"I was incredibly impressed with the caliber of the student submissions in terms of both the thought invested in the strategic framework of their work and the ultimate visualization of each concept. It's invigorating and thought-provoking to see the fresh perspective on our brand. It's equally exciting to know that the future of our industry will thrive in the hands of the impressive talents developing at the educational level," said Paul O. Loux, vice president of design for Sephora. 

Congratulations to the following PAVE 2011 Student Design Competition Winners:

Visual Merchandising Category:

$5,000 First Place: Natasha Melo, FIT/Fashion Institute of Technology. $2,500 Second Place: Joanna Chen, University of Cincinnati. $1,500 Third Place: Florence Tang, FIDM/Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising. 

Store Design Category:

$5,000 First Place: Liz Baverman, University of Cincinnati. $2,500 Second Place: Kayla Reinbold, University of Cincinnati. $1,500 Third Place: Tracey Wright, University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

$500 Honorable Mention: Sarah Hitchcock, University of Nebraska at Lincoln.

$500 Honorable Mention: Lily Parker, University College Falmouth.

$500 Honorable Mention: Rajiv Patel, Art Institute of Atlanta.

$500 Honorable Mention: Diana Stercula, University of Cincinnati.

$500 Honorable Mention: Hope Talley, University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

$500 Honorable Mention: Carrie Zwisler, Colorado State University. 

School Awards for Students Placing in the Top Three of Each Category:

$3,000 University of Cincinnati.

$1,000 FIT/Fashion Institute of Technology.

$1,000 FIDM/Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising.

$1,000 University of North Carolina at Greensboro. 

This year's winners faced a competitive field of a record-breaking 495 entries, including 429 in the overall store design category and 66 in the visual merchandising category. 

Judging the 2011 competition were: Jason Arth, Director, Store Design, Sephora, San Francisco; Barry Bourbon, AIA, LEED AP, Principal, Studio Director, Gensler, San Francisco; Christian Davies, Executive Creative Director, Americas, Fitch, Columbus; Barbara Emerson, Vice President, Store Design, Sephora, San Francisco; Denny Gerdeman, CEO, Chute Gerdeman, Columbus; John Giacomazzi, Senior Director, Visual Merchandising, Sephora, San Francisco; Rebecca Huston, Principle, Strategy, Huen, Portland; Paul O. Loux, Vice President, Design, Sephora, San Francisco; Bob Welty, Executive Director, Design & Brand, WD Partners, San Francisco; and Craig Wollen, Principal, Creative Director, Huen, Portland.  

Source: PAVE 

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.