WASHINGTON - Through an annual competition administered by the Heritage Documentation Programs of the National Park Service and in conjunction with the Library of Congress, the Holland Prize recognizes the best single-sheet, measured drawing of a historic building, structure, or landscape.
The 2017 Holland Prize winner is Jean-Guy Tanner Dubé from Oxnard, California with a drawing of the historic 19th-century Wallace Libbey Hardison House Barn in Santa Paula, California. Dubé will receive a $1,000 cash prize and a certificate of recognition.
The barn is part of the Hardison House estate, which was built on 19 acres in 1884 by Wallace Libbey Hardison, a founder of Union Oil Co., and Limoneira, an agribusiness company.
This year’s honorable mention went to a team of students from Universidad Politécnica de Puerto Rico with a drawing of The Jose Celso Barbosa House in Bayamón municipality, Puerto Rico. Student team members included Lysanne Guerrios, Laurie Modesto, Armando Perez, Natalie Medina, Gabriel Khoury, Jean G. Cortez, Ginelis Vergara, Enrique Soto, Kevin Vega, Karla Rodriguez, Miguel Grau, and Felix Osorio with faculty sponsors, professors Claudia Rosa Lopez and Jose Lorenzo Torres.
The house is the birthplace of Dr. José Celso Barbosa, known within Puerto Rico as the father of the statehood for Puerto Rico movement, and the first Puerto Rican to earn a medical degree in the United States. The house was added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places in 1984.
Honorable-mention recipients each receive a merit award of $500 and certificates of recognition. 
The Holland Prize is intended to increase awareness, knowledge, and appreciation of historic sites, structures, and landscapes throughout the United States. All drawings accepted for the competition will be added to the permanent Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering Record (HAER), and Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) collection in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress.
The prize honors Leicester B. Holland (1882-1952), who was a fellow of the American Institute of Architects (FAIA), chairman of the American Institute of Architects’ Committee on Historic Buildings, head of the Fine Arts Division of the Library of Congress and first curator of the HABS collection, a co-founder of the HABS program in the 1930s, and the first chair of the HABS Advisory Board.
The competition’s jury recommends winners to a special program, the Center for Architecture, Design and Engineering in the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division, which supports the prize through the Paul Rudolph Trust.
The Library of Congress offers access to the creative record of the United States - and extensive materials from around the world - both on site and online. It is the main research arm of the U.S. Congress and the home of the U.S. Copyright Office.

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.