Next to hardware, wood components are the item ordered most often by custom woodworkers for cabinetry projects. A 2006 study by Vance Research Services (Vance publishes Custom Woodworking Business) and the Wood Component.

Manufacturers Assn. (WCMA) found 62 percent of woodworking professionals outsourcing components, primarily from the United States and Canada.

Half of woodworking professionals said the top reason preventing them from outsourcing more is because they want control over production. When possible, woodworkers prefer to build parts themselves; on average, the study found, woodworking professionals manufacture 58 percent of their wood component parts in-house.

When woodworkers do outsource, U.S. and Canadian manufacturers are top suppliers, and cabinet doors are the number one item (53 percent), followed by mouldings and millwork (just over 52 percent), and drawer boxes (42 percent).

Sourcing through WCMA
WCMA, which represents nearly 135 manufacturers of wood component products for the cabinet, furniture, millwork, flooring, building products and related decorative wood products industries, promotes its “one-stop shopping” interactive Source Guide at WoodComponents.org.

WCMA’s 2010 “Dimension & Component Market Study” found the cabinet industry is its members’ largest end-use market, accounting for 31 percent of wood component products. An average of 40 percent of all WCMA members’ products were sold into the construction market in 2010: 44 percent for new housing, 34 percent for remodeling, and 22 percent for commercial and non-residential applications.

Improvement is expected in 2011 as total housing starts are expected to rise by one-third to 800,000 starts in 2011 and 1,200,000 starts in 2012, according to the National Association of Home Builders. Demographics remain positive for new household formations through 2020 and older homes will continue to be replaced or remodeled, says NAHB.

   
Cabinet doors are the most likely item to be outsourced. Two examples: Caron Industries’
Tropical Style doors made of coconut (left), and Versa Style in solid wood or veneer, and
with optional aged grain.

RedBookOnline.com
Hardwood Cabinet Doors
Red Book Online list dozens of wood component suppliers whose offerings can be useful in cabinetry projects, including general cabinet parts and decorative parts, carvings, decorative mouldings, drawers and drawer liners, as well as accompanying hardware.

Within the cabinet door suppliers among RedBookOnline.com component sources, are acrylic cabinet doors, decorative and laminate veneer doors, glass cabinet doors, melamine cabinet doors, as well as RTF, metal and hardwood and softwood cabinet doors. This list includes four dozen hardwood cabinet door providers from the site.

Abbeon Cal Inc. - abbeon1.com
Appalachian Wood Products Inc.- appwood.com
Arkansas Wood Doors - arkansaswooddoors.com
Cabinet Components & Distribution - cabinetcomponents.com
Cabinet Components - cabdoors.com
Cabinet Door Shop - cabinetdoorshop.com
California Door Corp. - caldoor.com
Caron Industries - caronindustries.com
Classic Custom Doors - classiccustomdoors.ca
COMTRAD - comtrad.ca
Conestoga Wood Specialties Corp.- conestogawood.com
Covolam Inc. - covolam.com
CRVP - crvp.com
Custom Doorcraft - Phone: (717) 768-7613
Decore-ative Specialties - decore.com
Distinctive Door Designs Inc.- distinctivedoordesigns.com
Doma Woodworking - domaww.com
Donald Dean & Sons Inc.- donalddeanandsons.com
Georgia Hardwoods - gahwd.com
Goods Millwork LLC- goodsmillwork.com
Innovations Custom Doors LLC - innovationscustomdoors.com
Keystone Wood Specialties Inc. - keystonewood.com
Kingston Associates - kingstonassociates.com
M and J Woodcrafts Ltd. - mjwoodcrafts.com
Maple Craft USA - maplecraftusa.com
Marloc Enterprises LLC - eaglebaywood.com
Meridian Products - meridianproduct.com
Mid Michigan Wood Specialties - midmichiganwood.com
Mid-America Hardwoods - mid-americahardwoods.com
Mountain Mills LLC - mountainmills.com
Nice Wood Products Co. - nicewoodproducts.com
North Country Door - ncdoor.com
Omega Wood Products - Toll Free: (800) 481-5381
Peter Meier Inc. - petermeier.com
Premoule Inc. - premoule.com
Quentin Wood - quentinwood.com
Rockler Woodworking and Hardware - rockler.com
Saint-Georges Doors - saint-georgesdoors.com
Scherr’s Cabinet and Doors Inc. - scherrs.com
TaylorCraft Cabinet Door Co. - taylorcraftdoor.com
The Chair Group - sedital.com
TME - tme.com.mx
UK West Inc. - ukwest.biz
Valley Custom Door - valleycustomdoor.com
VT Industries Inc. - vtindustries.com
WalzCraft - walzcraft.com
Woodcraft Industries Inc. - woodcraftind.com

Have something to say? Share your thoughts with us in the comments below.